## POLITICAL BALANCE OF THE COUNCIL

## Summary

This is to report that formal notices have been received in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the regulations made thereunder which have the effect of dividing the Council into political groups. The composition of the Council is as follows:

Conservative: 16
Liberal Democrat: 8
Labour: 3
Independent: 3

Notification has been received of the Members to act as Leader and Deputy Leader of each Political Group as follows:

	Leader	Deputy Leader
Conservative:	Councillor D J Bittleston	Councillor A Azad
Liberal Democrat:	Councillor A-M Barker	Councillor D E Hughes
Labour:	Councillor M I Raja	Councillor T Aziz
Independent:	Councillor J E Bond	Councillor A Boote

The Selection Panel at its meeting on 15 May 2018 considered the allocation of seats on Committees according to the provision of the regulations and, where possible, applied the same principle to Working Groups and Task Groups. This will be considered later in the agenda.

## Recommendations

The Council is requested to:

**RESOLVE That** the report be received.

The Council has authority to determine the recommendation above.

Background Papers: None.

**Reporting Person:** Ray Morgan, Chief Executive

Ext. 3333, E Mail: ray.morgan@woking.gov.uk

**Contact Person:** Frank Jeffrey, Democratic Services Manager

Ext. 3012, E Mail: frank.jeffrey@woking.gov.uk

Date Published: 21 May 2018